• Schedule an Appointment

  • Find a Doctor

  • The RFH Mobile
    Healthcare App



Dr. Ashwin B. Mehta
Mentor & Consultant
Cardiac Sciences
MBBS, MD, F.A.C.C., F.I.S.E., F.I.C.P
American College of Cardiology, Indian Society of Electrocardiology
Vast experience in the field of Cardiology; honoured with Padma Shri
Contact details

Dr. Ashwin B. Mehta is a consultant in the department of Cardiology at Sir H. N. Reliance Foundation Hospital and Research Centre.

After completing MBBS and MD, Dr. Mehta also completed F.A.C.C., F.I.S.E., and F.I.C.P. He received a total of 19 gold medals in various subjects in MBBS and MD examinations. He pursued fellowship at American College of Cardiology and Indian Society of Electrocardiology.

Dr. Mehta has rich experience in the field of Cardiology. Prior to his association with our hospital, he was an honorary professor of Cardiology at Sion LTM Medical College, University of Mumbai for more than 25 years. He has been a teacher for hundreds of undergraduate, post-graduate, super-specialty post-graduate students and currently is a Teacher in Cardiology at D.N.B board.

Dr. Mehta specializes in Coronary Interventions, Rotablation, Balloon Valvotomy and Transcatheter Aortic valve replacement. He is the pioneer in starting Cardiac Catheterization and Angiography in newborn babies and in starting Bundle Electrography in 1973 in India. His pioneering work also includes first systematic trial on primary angioplasty in acute myocardial infarction.

Dr Mehta has participated and performed live demonstrations on Complex Coronary Interventions in major cities of India, Shri Lanka, East Africa, Singapore, France, etc.

Dr. Mehta presented several research papers at national and international conferences and has published several peer-reviewed papers in national and international journals. He has been part of several multinational and multicentre clinical trials on stent evaluation and drug-eluting stents. He received Padma Shri Award from Government of India in 2004. He also received Maharashtra Gaurav award for the most outstanding contribution in Cardiology by the Government of Maharashtra in 2004.