• Schedule an Appointment

  • Find a Doctor

  • The RFH Mobile
    Healthcare App



Dr. Samuel Mathew
High Risk & Advance Cardiac Sciences
Interventional Cardiology
Pioneer of Angioplasty in India with a rich experience of more than 37 years
Contact details

Dr. Samuel Mathew Kalarickal is a Consultant Interventional Cardiologist with the Cardiology Department at Sir H. N. Reliance Foundation Hospital and Research Centre.

Post the completion of MBBS (Government Medical College, Kottayam) and MD (Stanley Medical College, Chennai), Dr. Samuel Mathew accomplished DM from Madras Medical College, Chennai.

Popularly known as the father of Angioplasty in India, Dr. Samuel Mathew specialises in Coronary Angioplasty, Carotid Stenting, Coronary Stenting and Rotablator Atherectomy. During the early years of his practice, he worked with Medistra Hospital (Jakarta) and Royal Hospital (Muscat) before moving his practice to the US. There, he trained under Dr. Andreas Gruentzig (who is known as the father of Coronary Angioplasty) before returning to India in 1985.

Dr Samuel Mathew has performed over 10,000 Angioplasties and is the first Indian Cardiologist to initiate new techniques in Angioplasty, for e.g. Usage of Drug-eluting bio-absorbable stents. He has also provided angioplasty training to numerous surgeons across the United Arab Emirates, Muscat, Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

Additionally, Dr. Samuel Mathew is the founder-convenor of the National Angioplasty Registry of India. He has earlier held the positions of President, Asian-Pacific Society of Interventional Cardiology (1995-97) and Chairman of Interventional Cardiology, Asian-Pacific Society of Cardiology (1995-99).

For his dedicated work and contribution to the field of Interventional Cardiology, Dr Samuel Mathew was awarded the Padmashree by the President of India in 1999. He is also the recipient of Dr. B. C. Roy Award in Interventional Cardiology (1996), Doctor of Science Award by Dr. M.G.R. University (2003) and Lifetime Achievement Award (2008).